What Gives? What do you give up to be able to write?

Movies, hobbies, special events, concerts, video games…  the list could go on and on.  I followed my songwriting and music dream for many years, received publishing contracts for five of my songs, two were for children’s songs.  Life got in the way, just when I was getting close, or at least getting started.

Now I am happy with a different kind of writing.  I still have to do the market research, write  letters, collect rejections and all, but I don’t have to sequence drum tracks and record demos.    I miss it, but it actually felt more time consuming than writing stories and articles even with the research.  Guess I had to pick one to follow now.  I choose writing.

What do you miss?

6 thoughts on “What Gives? What do you give up to be able to write?

    • Yeah, I think that’s why I like short stories, More words to work with.
      Saturdays, in Jan. and Feb., I teach a basic songwriting course at Walters State Community College. It’s for the Talented and Gifted program. Students are from 13 area schools in 5th to 8th grades. It is fun. It’s amazing the talent some of them have.

  1. I miss playing the piano, writing songs, and working with my clay. I’m still drawing, but I do a lot more writing than I used to, and some of the other stuff is kind of falling to the side, which makes me so sad. I still save time for singing, though!

    • It’s good to have other artistic outlets, like drawing, I think it gives the brain a chance to develop some of the story ideas while we are not thinking just about them.

      Singing is a great way outlet for artistic expression. Live singing and music is so unique, once the note is played, or sung, and heard, it’s gone. Just a memory, unless it was recorded, but it’s still not the same as the live occurrence. Music is beautiful.

      Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

